RSS

Which Road?

05 Apr

 “You can enter God’s Kingdom only through the narrow gate. The highway to hell is broad, and its gate is wide for the many who choose that way. But the gateway to life is very narrow and the road is difficult, and only a few ever find it.”

My life is relatively easy. My husband and I both have good jobs. We live in a wonderful community in a beautiful area of California. I have a wonderfully diverse set of friends whom I love, a great and growing church, and the ability to travel. I am not persecuted for my faith nor do I suffer to any great extent. Am I on the narrow road?

Compare my life to those who sleep in a rat-infested cell, tortured for their faith; those who pray, read and meet in secret lest they be killed; those who lose their job, family, and possibly their life when they choose to follow Christ. They are on the narrow road. On which road am I?

I’ve been wondering, if the gate to destruction is wide and the road there very easy, and the way to life is very narrow, and the road that leads there is so hard to follow that only a few people find it, how many American Christians are on the narrow road?

In Paul’s second letter to Timothy he warns him not to be naïve about the end times and people who love only themselves and their money. They are boastful and proud, scoffing at God, disobedient to their parents, and ungrateful. They consider nothing sacred. They’re unloving and unforgiving; they slander others and have no self-control. They are cruel and hate what is good. They will betray their friends, are reckless, be puffed up with pride, and they love pleasure rather than God. They will act religious, but it’s just a show.

Wow. Sounds like California. Or Washington DC. Do I know anyone like this? Do I live among them? Do I hang out with them? Paul warns, “Stay away from people like that!” Perhaps that is the narrow road. Perhaps the narrow road curves right through the wide one, going the opposite direction. Perhaps An American Christian needs to learn to swim upstream; Avoid the obstacles; Recognize the toxic waste slowly creeping in the heart and mind; Run away and not ignore the things that can tempt and taint; and stand firm in spite of the desire to sit tight.

I’ve changed the focus of this blog (see About). I think I’ll start of list of obstacles God says to watch out for. An American Christian may have a harder challenge with a heart of complacency than persecution for the faith. What will we do about it?

 

Tags: , , , ,

What do you think about this? I'd love to know.

 
