RSS

A Calmer Faith

12 Apr

“A calmer faith—that’s the quiet place within us where we don’t get whiplash every time life tosses us a curve. When we don’t revolt when His plan and ours conflict. Where we relax (versus stew, sweat and swear) in the midst of an answerless season. Where we accept (and expect) deserts in our spiritual journey as surely as we do joy.” ~Patsy Clairmont

This morning I was completing the fourth chapter in the book for our “Cultivating Contentment” Bible study and the topic of whining continues… A couple of quotes by Patsy Clairmont really stood out for me. The one above, and this: “Whiners neither enjoy nor give joy. But grace-filled people are reputable, sought after, and deeply loved.”

Wow, I want to be that person! I don’t think I’m much of a whiner, but I’m going back to work today after a couple of weeks off recovering from surgery. I’ve SO enjoyed the time off (for a myriad of reasons listed in an earlier post on Collect Yourself) and the approach of this day has caught me internally grumbling, “I don’t wanna!!” But since I don’t really have a choice, and I am called to “Work willingly at whatever you do, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people. Remember that the Lord will give you an inheritance as your reward, and that the Master you are serving is Christ,” I need an extra filling of grace and cultivate that ‘quiet place within.’

I think a lot of American Christians are not known as such in the workplace, as if they separate who they are spiritually from who they are occupationally. As a leader of a small organization in a very large corporation I have the propensity (whether I want it or not) to influence people. I think anyone in any position has some measure of influence. I want my attitude and actions to reflect those of a Christ-follower. There some people I work with who really live this out. They are great examples.

I’m not a naturally negative person but corporate politics can really push my buttons. Contrast: Persecuted Christians in other countries lose their jobs and lives for following Christ. What right do I have to complain about a great job working with great people just because it throws stressful curveballs my way on a daily basis? I have it SO easy compared to so many others…

Paul, Silas and Timothy teamed up to write a letter to the church in Thessalonica which includes these words: “Make it your goal to live a quiet life, minding your own business and working with your hands, just as we instructed you before. Then people who are not Christians will respect the way you live, and you will not need to depend on others.”

So, ‘grace, grace to it!’ as I log on and work my way through a thousand emails, and keep and cultivate that quiet and joyful faith that is sought after by others.

~~~

P.S. For grace-filled encouragement, check out my friend and fellow blogger, Julie Moore’s, Grace Full Woman Website.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 12, 2011 in Contentment, Grace, Purpose

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “A Calmer Faith

  1. juliemooreonlife

    April 12, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    I wish you blessing as you return to work and have no doubt that you will reflect Christ. From what I read I see Jesus in you and count it a priviledge to have found you in the blogging world. Thanks for the mention.

     

What do you think about this? I'd love to know.

 
