RSS

“Recipes in the Glory” Huh?

15 Apr

I have a friend who cracks me up. (Several, actually: What is life without friends who make you bust a gut?) I had posted on FaceBook that my daughter had just introduced me to The Food Network. (This caused a firestorm response of disbelief and friends’ urgent desires to stage an intervention.) My friend sent a video link to me privately asking, “Is this you?” Since I am not so private here is that link: Recipe Downloads. (Skip the short ad at the beginning.)

Now, normally this great piece would be something I’d use to write a post on Collect Yourself, a slightly less reverent blog than this. However, I can’t help but wonder if this kind of media (prophesy? televangelism? entertainment?) is largely consumed by the American Christian as opposed to other believers around the world. Is this how a good-sized population of American Christians hear from God? I suspect that believers in countries where faith in Jesus Christ is a little harder to live out don’t really get a lot of edification from this sort of television program, if they even have access to television… I suspect they get their words from God directly from, well, the word of God.

Now I’m not saying God isn’t interested in the little things in our lives. And I’m not saying He isn’t in the kitchen with me when I am cooking. And I’m not saying the creativity used to concoct new and wonderful meals doesn’t come from Him (although I did tell my girlfriend, “no, that’s not me”; I wouldn’t know a ‘recipe in the glory’ unless one written in a paper airplane mysteriously hit me in the head!)—I am saying that I don’t find a lot of scripture that supports this kind of ‘edification.’ Scriptures on encouraging one another? Yes! On wise words? Yes! On ‘recipes in the glory’? Meh, maybe not so much… If I’m off here, let me know!

I’m not against prophesy or getting great meal ideas from the Holy Spirit, but I think we need to be careful where we seek out the Truth. The main source shouldn’t be TV, another human, a blog, or a book (though those can be vehicles for truth) but test everything against the word of God, the Source.

Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the word of truth.

And thank God for good recipes. Also for good friends who find creative ways to make you laugh.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 15, 2011 in God's Word

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to ““Recipes in the Glory” Huh?

  1. juliemooreonlife

    April 15, 2011 at 7:11 pm

    You are def right about getting intimacy with God, and finding out truth about Him from other sources other than His Word. I really got stuck for years because I listened to people I thought knew the truth but they only knew part of the truth. Studying with guidance from the Lord has led me to discover more nuggets of treasure than ever.

    Other sources can be helpful but they cannot stand alone.

     

What do you think about this? I'd love to know.

 
